Program update: Conductor Andrew Grams steps in for Hannu Lintu for next week’s DSO Digital Concerts

Detroit, (January 29, 2021) – Today, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) announced that conductor Andrew Grams will step in for Hannu Lintu to conduct next week’s DSO Digital Concerts. Mr. Lintu is unable appear with the DSO due to family circumstances, and he said: “I have been eagerly waiting for my return to Detroit and making music with my friends there. I made this decision with a heavy heart and hope to reunite with the orchestra and audience as soon as possible.”

The program on Thursday, February 4 of Schubert’s Symphony No. 1 in D major is unchanged, while the program on Friday, February 5 will now feature Mozart’s Symphony No. 38 in D major, “Prague,” which was originally scheduled for January 22. Both concerts will begin at 7:30 p.m.

All DSO Digital Concert performances are live streamed from Orchestra Hall. Subscribers and donors above $125 receive access to all DSO Digital Concerts, with single tickets available to purchase for $12. Concerts can be viewed exclusively on via computer, mobile device, or smart TV both live and on-demand for two weeks following the original concert performance. For more information, and to purchase tickets, visit

About Andrew Grams

With a unique combination of intensity, enthusiasm, and technical clarity, American conductor Andrew Grams has steadily built a reputation for his dynamic concerts, ability to connect with audiences, and long-term orchestra building. The youngest of a large mixed-race family from Severn, Maryland, Andrew began studying the violin when he was eight years old in the public school system. In 1999, he received a Bachelor of Music in Violin Performance from The Juilliard School, and in 2003 he received a conducting degree from the Curtis Institute of Music where he studied with Otto-Werner Mueller. He was selected to spend the summer of 2003 studying with David Zinman, Murry Sidlin, and Michael Stern at the American Academy of Conducting at Aspen and returned to that program again in 2004.

Mr. Grams currently serves as Music Director of the Elgin Symphony Orchestra and previously served as Assistant Conductor of The Cleveland Orchestra from 2004-2007 where he worked under the guidance of Franz Welser-Möst and has since returned for several engagements. He is the winner of 2015 Conductor of the Year from the Illinois Council of Orchestras and has led orchestras throughout the United States including the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra, St. Louis Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony, Philadelphia Orchestra, Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony, as well as those around the world, including the symphony orchestras of Toronto, Montréal, and Vancouver, the Orchestre National de France, Hong Kong Philharmonic, the BBC Orchestras of London, Wales, and Scotland, and the Sydney Symphony.

Program Information


Thursday, February 4 at 7:30 p.m.

Andrew Grams, conductor

American conductor Andrew Grams returns to lead the DSO in a performance of Schubert’s Symphony No. 1, composed when he was just 16 years old while still in school, studying the works of Mozart and Haydn. Please note: Originally scheduled conductor Hannu Lintu is unable to appear with the DSO due to family circumstances.

SCHUBERT Symphony No. 1 in D major, D. 82



Friday, February 5 at 7:30 p.m.

Andrew Grams, conductor

Conductor Andrew Grams conducts Mozart’s beloved Symphony No. 38, known as the “Prague” symphony after the city where it was premiered in 1787. Please note: Originally scheduled conductor Hannu Lintu is unable to appear with the DSO due to family circumstances.

MOZART Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504, “Prague”