ken thompkinsEndowed Chair Program 

"Endowed chairs in the orchestra are a sign to musicians, patrons, and board members that our orchestra’s mission is well-supported. It is a great honor for a musician to be recognized for their contributions to this wonderful orchestra by having their chair endowed."

– Kenneth Thompkins, Principal Trombone (Shari and Craig Morgan Chair)

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s endowed chair program is a generous and personalized way that investors can support the artistic excellence of the orchestra. Endowing a chair demonstrates gratitude for the role that the DSO plays in your life and, for the musicians, creates an immediate connection from the stage to the audience.

By naming a chair in honor of yourself, your family, or a loved one, you contribute to the health and artistic culture of the DSO’s evolution and help grow our endowment, ensuring our orchestra remains a cultural beacon for generations to come. Named chair opportunities begin at $500,000 and cultivate a special bond between musician and benefactor that signifies a mutual love for music and strong desire to share that passion with others.

The below chart celebrates orchestra chairs that have been endowed and highlights opportunities available to leave your mark and join a passionate community of music lovers by endowing a chair.

endowed chairs infographic

Supporters Chair Currently Held By
Richard and Mona Alonzo Chair Timpani, Principal Jeremy Epp
Lee and Floy Barthel Chair  Trumpet, Principal Hunter Eberly
Walker L. Cisler/ Detroit Edison Foundation Chair First Violin, Assistant Concertmaster Hai-Xin Wu
Joanne Danto and Arnold Weingarden Chair Cello Peter McCaffrey
The Devereaux Family Chair Second Violin, Acting Principal Adam Stepniewski
Fred A. Erb Jazz Creative Director Chair Jazz Director Terence Blanchard
Lauren and Phillip Fisher Community Ambassador Assistant Conductor, Community Ambassador Na'Zir McFadden
Barbara Frankel and Ronald Michalak Chair Bass Clarinet Shannon Orme
Byron and Dorothy Gerson Chair Bassoon, Principal Conrad Cornelison

Victor and Gale Girolami Chair

Cello Jeremy Crosmer

Ruth Roby and Alfred R. Glancy III Chair

Percussion, Principal Joseph Becker

Mary Ann and Robert Gorlin Chair

Cello Una O'Riordan

Dorothy and Herbert Graebner Chair

Cello, Assistant Principal  Abraham Feder

Mary Lee Gwizdala


Cole Randolph 

Morton and Brigitte Harris Chair Flute Amanda Blaikie
Ric and Carola Huttenlocher Chair Horn Scott Strong

William and Story John


Adrienne Rönmark 

Alan J. and Sue Kaufman and Family Chair Flute, Principal Hannah Hammel Maser
William Cody Knicely Chair Percussion, Assistant Principal Andres Pichardo-Rosenthal
Julie and Ed Levy, Jr. Chair Viola, Principal Eric Nowlin
David and Valerie McCammon Chairs Second Violin Hae Jeong Heidi Han

David and Valerie McCammon Chairs

Second Violin Will Haapaniemi

Maggie Miller Chair

Oboe Monica Fosnaugh
Shari and Craig Morgan Chair Piccolo Jeffery Zook

Shari and Craig Morgan Chair

Trombone, Principal

Kenneth Thompkins

PVS Chemicals Inc./Jim and Ann Nicholson Chair Clarinet Jack Walters
Henry and Patricia Nickol Chair Viola Caroline Coade

Winifred E. Polk Chair

Harp, Principal OPEN

David and Christine Provost

Horn, Principal OPEN

Bernard and Eleanor Robertson Chair

Flute, Assistant Principal Sharon Sparrow

Jack A. and Aviva Robinson Chair

Oboe, Principal

Alexander Kinmonth 

Robert B. Semple Chair Clarinet, Principal Ralph Skiano

Schwartz Shapero Family Chair

First Violin, Associate Concertmaster

Kimberly Kaloyanides Kennedy 

Dr. Doris Tong and Teck Soo Chair

First Violin Alexandros Sakarellos

Katherine Tuck Chair


Robyn Bollinger

Van Dusen Family Chair

Bass, Principal

Kevin Brown

Legacy Chairs    

Women's Association for the DSO

Legacy Chair, Principal Flute


James C. Gordon

Legacy Chair, Principal Cello