<March 2019>

2019 Heroes Gala emblem

Saturday, June 22, 2019 
at the Max M. and Marjorie S. Fisher Music Center

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra will honor Mort Harris at its ninth annual Heroes Gala.

Mort Harris and his late wife Brigitte have supported the DSO for decades, including tenure on the Board of Directors and recognition as Directors Emeriti. After his service as a bomber pilot in World War II (for which he was inducted as Chevalier of the French Legion of Honour), Mort attended Wayne State University and later co-founded American Axle & Manufacturing. His philanthropy has touched countless lives in Metro Detroit, through support of Wayne State University, Henry Ford Health System, and others.

Actor and singer Leslie Odom, Jr. will perform in the DSO’s Ninth Annual Heroes Gala and Benefit Concert with the orchestra on Saturday, June 22, 2019. Odom, Jr. is best known for originating the role of Aaron Burr in the Broadway sensation Hamilton, for which he won a Tony Award and a Grammy Award. He has also appeared on Broadway in Rent and Leap of Faith, on TV in the NBC series Smash, on film in Red Tails and the 2017 adaptation of Murder on the Orient Express, and on two solo jazz albums released by S-Curve Records.

Gala patrons can purchase tickets by calling Jenni Clark at 313.576.5449.

This black tie evening includes:
5 PM Red Carpet Arrivals & Cocktails – The William Davidson Atrium
5:30 PM Formal Dinner – The Peter D. and Julie F. Cummings Cube
8 PM DSO Heroes Benefit Concert – Orchestra Hall – "An Evening with Leslie Odom, Jr."
10 PM Gala After Glow – The William Davidson Atrium

2018 Levels of Support

Proceeds from the 2019 Heroes Gala will support the Detroit Symphony Orchestra's commitment to transforming the lives of children and youth across our region through music education.

For more information, please contact Jenni Clark at 313.576.5449 or jclark@dso.org.

About the Heroes Gala

The DSO founded the Heroes Gala in 2010 in honor of the remarkable men and women who impact the vision, values, and success of the organization. Previous honorees are:
• 2010: James B. Nicholson, DSO Chairman Emeritus and President and CEO of PVS Chemicals Inc.
• 2012: Lloyd Reuss, DSO Director Emeritus and former President of General Motors Corporation
• 2013: Barbara Van Dusen, DSO Director Emerita and beloved supporter of the arts in Detroit
• 2014: Dan Gilbert, Founder and Chairman of Rock Ventures together with Matt Cullen, President and Chief Executive Officer of Rock Ventures LLC
• 2015: The Davidson/Gerson Family, prolific Detroit philanthropists and supporters of the DSO’s William Davidson Neighborhood Concert Series
• 2016: John A. Boll, DSO Director Emeritus and former Chairman and CEO of Chateau Properties & Marlene L. Boll, former Radio City Rockette and active DSO Volunteer
• 2017: Mandell and Madeleine (Bill and Madge) Berman+, each longtime DSO board members and steadfast supporters of the orchestra’s education programs
• 2018: Penny and Harold Blumenstein, each longtime DSO supporters who established the Penny and Harold Blumenstein Future Audiences Fund, together with Leonard Slatkin, 10-year DSO Music Director who established the Cindy and Leonard Slatkin Emerging Artists Fund

Proceeds from this year's event will support the DSO's commitment to transforming the lives of children and youth across our region through music education. The DSO’s Wu Family Academy for Learning and Engagement is proud to serve thousands of area youth each season through weekend youth ensemble training, educational concerts in Orchestra Hall, and in-school programming.