Return to DSO Homepage Next: October 7 Gil Shaham and Enigma 3:00 PM EDT (GMT - 4)

Donate now! 
Presented By
& Made Possible By


Free Live Webcasts from the Detroit Symphony Orchestra

Now Playing

Gil Shaham and Enigma


Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Gil Shaham, violin


Erb , The Seventh Trumpet

Prokofiev , Violin Concerto No. 1

Elgar , Variations on an Original Theme

“Resplendent,” raves the Los Angeles Times of Gil Shaham. “The performance of a lifetime.” Shaham plays Prokofiev’s blistering First Violin Concerto. And Leonard Slatkin opens the season with Sir Edward Elgar’s great and noble Enigma Variations, a Victorian Facebook of family and friends.

Please note: This concert is currently only available as part of a subscription package. To purchase a package, visit

Join the DSO and Assistant Conductor Michelle Merrill for this season's webcasts of the Educational Concert Series (ECS). ECS introduces schoolchildren to classical music with thematic concerts and accompanying teacher resource tools available to those who register to watch.

Learn More

Want more Live from Orchestra Hall? The DSO is the first American orchestra to make its performance archive available on demand, with more than 100 works available in high definition. Replay is web compatible across all devices (desktop, tablet and mobile). offers a two-minute preview to all visitors, and all patrons who join the annual fund with a gift of $50 or more will receive full access.

Learn More