<August 2019>

Stravinsky & Bartók

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall (map)
Friday, May 29, 2020 – 10:45 AM Buy Tickets
Saturday, May 30, 2020 – 8:00 PM Buy Tickets
Sunday, May 31, 2020 – 3:00 PM Buy Tickets

Prices start at $12.50

Concert Description

Music Director Laureate Leonard Slatkin leads the DSO through a program of three favorites, beginning with Stravinsky’s Symphonies of Wind Instruments, which the composer penned as part of a tribute to the late Claude Debussy. (“The musicians of my generation and I myself owe the most to Debussy,” announced Stravinsky.) Béla Bartók’s enduring Music for celesta (a small keyboard instrument), percussion, and two separate groups of strings playing in response to one another. Pianist Garrick Ohlsson closes the program performing Brahms’ commanding First Piano Concerto, which represented a large step out of Beethoven’s shadow and into the composer’s own legacy.


Leonard Slatkin, conductor  Bio

Internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin began his tenure as Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2008. In addition, Maestro Slatkin is the Music Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon, a position he has held since 2011. He is highly regarded for his historic leadership of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra from 1979 to 1996 and his tenure as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1996 to 2008. He has also served as Chief Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and held Principal Guest Conductor positions with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Learn more at leonardslatkin.com

Garrick Ohlsson, piano   Bio

Since his triumph as winner of the 1970 Chopin International Piano Competition, pianist Garrick Ohlsson has established himself worldwide as a musician of magisterial interpretive and technical prowess. Although long regarded as one of the world’s leading exponents of the music of Frédéric Chopin, Mr. Ohlsson commands an enormous repertoire, which ranges over the entire piano literature. A student of the late Claudio Arrau, Mr. Ohlsson has come to be noted for his masterly performances of the works of Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert, as well as the Romantic repertoire. To date he has at his command more than 80 concertos, ranging from Haydn and Mozart to works of the 21st century, many commissioned for him.

Learn more at opus3artists.com.


STRAVINSKY Symphonies of Wind Instruments (1947 revision)  
BARTÓK Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta  
BRAHMS Concerto for Piano No. 1