<June 2019>

Hadelich Plays Paganini

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall (map)
Friday, January 24, 2020 – 10:45 AM
Saturday, January 25, 2020 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, January 26, 2020 – 3:00 PM

Concert Description

Augustin Hadelich, “one of the outstanding violinists of his generation” (New York Times), returns to Orchestra Hall to perform Paganini’s First Violin Concerto. Paganini, himself a wizard of the violin, began composing when he could not find material challenging enough to play; his First Violin Concerto balances showmanship with substance. Paganini admired fellow composer Berlioz (and the feeling was mutual, with Berlioz calling Paganini “a Titan among giants”); in the second half we join Berlioz on the psychedelic trip that is his Symphonie Fantastique. This symphonic hallucination evokes dark revels, unrequited love, an execution and a visit to the underworld.

The event is currently only available to 2019-2020 Subscribers. Are you a DSO Subscriber? If not, there’s never been a better time to reserve the best seats at the lowest prices available for next season and enjoy the priority and flexibility that come with being a DSO Subscriber. Click here to learn more.


Jader Bignamini, conductor  
Augustin Hadelich, violin   Bio

Consistently cited in the press for his “gorgeous tone,” “poetic communication” and “fast-fingered brilliance,” Augustin Hadelich has confirmed his place in the top echelon of young violinists. The 2006 Gold medalist of the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis, Mr. Hadelich is the recipient of Lincoln Center’s Martin E. Segal Award, an Avery Fisher Career Grant and a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship in the UK.

Born in Italy in 1984, the son of German parents, Augustin Hadelich holds an artist diploma from The Juilliard School, where he was a student of Joel Smirnoff.  He plays on the 1723 “Ex-Kiesewetter” Stradivari violin, on loan from Clement and Karen Arrison through the generous efforts of the Stradivari Society.


PAGANINI Violin Concerto No. 1  
BERLIOZ Symphonie Fantastique