<May 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
78
13
20
272829

Girlfriend

Detroit Public Theatre Print Add to Calendar
Allesee Hall (map)
Thursday, March 21, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Friday, March 22, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 23, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 24, 2019 – 2:00 PM
Thursday, March 28, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Friday, March 29, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 30, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 31, 2019 – 2:00 PM
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Thursday, April 4, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 6, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 7, 2019 – 2:00 PM
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 – 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 11, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Friday, April 12, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 13, 2019 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 14, 2019 – 2:00 PM

Concert Description

GIRLFRIEND by Matthew Sweet and Todd Almond
March 21 - April 14
Directed by Joe Bailey


Romance unfolds in a new musical wound around the tender love songs of Matthew Sweet’s landmark album, Girlfriend. Two teenage boys - one a social outcast, the other a quintessential jock - figure out that there is more to life than what high school has taught them during a summer of self-discovery between high school graduation and the rest of their lives. Anyone who remembers the terror and thrill of first love will relate to this rock musical that gives voice to those of us who who didn't quite fit in.

Girlfriend is the breathless testimony of a fool for love, a rock ‘n’ roll valentine that delivers subtle wisdom with an exhilarating kick. -Rolling Stone

Ticket Prices
Wed, Thu, Fri, Sun: $40
Under 35 (Juniors): $25
Over 65+ (Seniors): $30

Saturday Nights: $47.50
Under 35 (Juniors): $32.50
Over 65+ (Seniors): $37.50

Special Rates for Groups of 10 or more. Please call (313)974-7918 for information.