<August 2019>

Brahms Symphony No. 4

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall (map)
Thursday, May 30, 2019 – 7:30 PM
Friday, May 31, 2019 – 10:45 AM
Saturday, June 1, 2019 – 8:00 PM
This program will be live webcast Friday, May 31
at 10:45 am EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Concert Description

The great strength and nobility of Brahms’s fourth and final symphony places it among his supreme masterworks. Conductor Simone Young, praised for her Brahms performances, makes her Detroit debut on this exciting program—which also includes Webern’s early, romantic Passacaglia and Haydn’s Concerto for Two Horns (featuring DSO musicians Karl Pituch and Johanna Yarbrough).


Simone Young, conductor  
Karl Pituch, horn   Bio

Karl Pituch was named Principal Horn of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2000. In 1988, he finished as one of the top five hornists at the 37th International Music Competition in Munich, Germany. Pituch was the grand prizewinner at the 1989 American Solo Horn Competition and has been a finalist at many other solo competitions. Before joining the DSO, Pituch was Associate Principal Horn with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Principal Horn with the Honolulu Symphony Orchestra, the Jacksonville Symphony, the Colorado Music Festival Orchestra and the Chautauqua Festival Orchestra. Pituch can be heard on many recordings with the Dallas, San Francisco and Honolulu Symphony Orchestras.

Johanna Yarbrough, horn   


WEBERN Passacaglia  
HAYDN Concerto for Two Horns  
BRAHMS Symphony No. 4