<April 2018>

Rite of Spring

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Thursday, May 31, 2018 – 7:30 PM Buy Tickets
Friday, June 1, 2018 – 10:45 AM Buy Tickets
Saturday, June 2, 2018 – 8:00 PM Buy Tickets
This program will be live webcast Friday, June 1
at 10:45 am EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Prices start at $12.50

Concert Description

Having paid double to schedule the famous Ballets Russes, the stage manager of Paris’ newest theater watched as a sold-out audience heard the first performance of Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring. The crowd began to riot and split into two fighting factions, then quickly turned its anger toward the orchestra. Stravinsky’s revolutionary score depicting the ancient rituals and folk music of Russia became an audience favorite and has since inspired composers from Copland to Messiaen.

ConcerTalk 5/31 at 6:30 PM & 6/2 at 7 PM: Get the most out of each Classical concert with informal presentations in Orchestra Hall one hour before the performance begins. Enjoy special guests, lectures, or performances that illuminate the program and provide a behind-the-scenes look at the art of making music! In this iteration, Associate Conductor Michelle Merrill will interview composer Jared Miller.

JARED MILLER Luster, (World Premiere)
CHOPIN Piano Concerto No. 1
STRAVINSKY Rite of Spring


Leonard Slatkin, conductor  Bio

Internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin began his tenure as Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2008. In addition, Maestro Slatkin is the Music Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon, a position he has held since 2011. He is highly regarded for his historic leadership of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra from 1979 to 1996 and his tenure as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1996 to 2008. He has also served as Chief Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and held Principal Guest Conductor positions with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Learn more at leonardslatkin.com

Seong-Jin Cho, piano