<May 2019>

Beethoven's Seventh

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Friday, March 23, 2018 – 10:45 AM
Friday, March 23, 2018 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 24, 2018 – 8:00 PM
This program will be live webcast Saturday, March 24
at 8:00 pm EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Concert Description

Beethoven regarded his Seventh Symphony as one of his best works. Premiered as part of a patriotic program honoring soldiers wounded in battle against Napoleon’s forces, its first audience, still reeling from previous French occupation, enthusiastically welcomed its rhythmic energy and spontaneity. They also instantly demanded an encore of the second movement, a march-like procession among his most recognizable works, and widely found in film and television today.

ConcerTalk 3/23 at 7 PM & 3/24 at 7 PM: Get the most out of each Classical concert with informal presentations in Orchestra Hall one hour before the performance begins. Enjoy special guests, lectures, or performances that illuminate the program and provide a behind-the-scenes look at the art of making music! In this iteration, Steven Whiting, University of Michigan Professor of Musicology, will speak about the program.


Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor  
Augustin Hadelich, violin   Bio

Consistently cited in the press for his “gorgeous tone,” “poetic communication” and “fast-fingered brilliance,” Augustin Hadelich has confirmed his place in the top echelon of young violinists. The 2006 Gold medalist of the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis, Mr. Hadelich is the recipient of Lincoln Center’s Martin E. Segal Award, an Avery Fisher Career Grant and a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship in the UK.

Born in Italy in 1984, the son of German parents, Augustin Hadelich holds an artist diploma from The Juilliard School, where he was a student of Joel Smirnoff.  He plays on the 1723 “Ex-Kiesewetter” Stradivari violin, on loan from Clement and Karen Arrison through the generous efforts of the Stradivari Society.


SIBELIUS Pohjola's Daughter  
BRITTEN Violin Concerto  
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7