<March 2019>

Branford Marsalis

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Friday, March 24, 2017 – 10:45 AM
Friday, March 24, 2017 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 25, 2017 – 8:00 PM
This program will be live webcast Friday, March 24
at 8:00 pm EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Concert Description

An incredible musical legacy inspires a new generation! Dynamic Russian conductor Andrey Boreyko leads Sergei Prokofiev's timeless suite from Romeo and Juliet, plus the spectacular premiere of composer/DJ Gabriel Prokofiev's Saxophone Concerto performed by the great Branford Marsalis.

Gabriel Prokofiev's Saxophone Concerto commissioned by Naples Philharmonic and the DSO.

ConcerTalk 3/24 & 3/25 at 7 PM: Get the most out of each Classical concert with informal presentations in Orchestra Hall one hour before the performance begins. Enjoy special guests, lectures, or performances that illuminate the program and provide a behind-the-scenes look at the art of making music! Associate Conductor Michelle Merrill will speak with composer Gabriel Prokofiev on this occasion.


BERLIOZ "Love Scene" from Romeo and Juliet  
GABRIEL PROKOFIEV Saxophone Concerto (DSO premiere)  
PROKOFIEV Suite from Romeo and Juliet