<December 2018>

Copland & Bernstein

mobile Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall (map)
Friday, November 28, 2014 – 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 29, 2014 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, November 30, 2014 – 3:00 PM

Concert Description

Finnish violinist Elina Vähälä makes her Detroit debut with John Corigliano's cinematic "Red Violin" concerto!



Join us before you concert in Orchestra Hall at 7 PM on Friday and Saturday, and 2 PM on Sunday, to hear Mark Clague, professor of musicology at the University of Michigan, speak about Gershwin.


Leonard Slatkin, conductor  Bio

Internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin began his tenure as Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2008. In addition, Maestro Slatkin is the Music Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon, a position he has held since 2011. He is highly regarded for his historic leadership of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra from 1979 to 1996 and his tenure as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1996 to 2008. He has also served as Chief Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and held Principal Guest Conductor positions with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Learn more at leonardslatkin.com

Elina Vähälä, violin   Bio

Born in the US and raised in Finland, Elina Vähälä made her orchestral debut with Sinfonia Lahti at the age of twelve and was later chosen by Osmo Vänskä as the orchestra’s ‘young master soloist’. Since then, her career continues to expand the international stage, winning praise from audiences and musicians alike as ‘a fluent, stylish and gifted musician whose brilliant technique is matched by an abundant spirit, sensitivity and imagination’ (Chicago Tribune).

Elina has appeared with orchestras throughout Europe and the US and toured extensively in UK, Germany, China, Korea and South America. She has worked with some of the world’s most sought-after conductors including Leonard Slatkin, Carlos Kalmar, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Okko Kamu, Jakob Hrusa, Thierry Fischer and Leif Sergerstam.

Learn more at elinavahala.com.


JOHN CORIGLIANO Concerto for Violin, "The Red Violin"  
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 (1879 Version)