<September 2017>

Virtuoso Liszt

mobile Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Friday, November 15, 2013 – 10:45 AM
Saturday, November 16, 2013 – 8:00 PM
Sunday, November 17, 2013 – 3:00 PM


Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor  Bio

A regular guest with North America’s top orchestras, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos will conduct the New York, Boston, Los Angeles, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, Detroit, and Toronto Symphony Orchestras in the 2012-13 season.  He appears annually at the Tanglewood Music Festival and regularly with the Chicago, National, and Philadelphia symphonies.

Born in Burgos, Spain in 1933, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos studied violin, piano, music theory and composition at the conservatories in Bilbao and Madrid, and conducting at Munich’s Hochschule für Musik, where he graduated summa cum laude and was awarded the Richard Strauss Prize.  From 2004-2011, he was Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Dresden Philharmonic, and in the 2012-13 season begins his post as Chief Conductor of the Danish National Orchestra.

Kirill Gerstein, piano   Bio

The multifaceted pianist Kirill Gerstein has rapidly ascended into classical music’s highest ranks.  With a masterful technique, discerning intelligence, and a musical curiosity that has led him to explore repertoire spanning centuries and styles, he has proven to be one of today’s most intriguing and versatile musicians. His early training and experience in jazz has contributed an important element to his interpretive style, inspiring an energetic and expressive musical personality that distinguishes his playing.

After completing his studies in three years and following his second summer at the Boston University program at Tanglewood, Mr. Gerstein turned his focus back to classical music and moved to New York City to attend the Manhattan School of Music, where he studied with Solomon Mikowsky and earned both Bachelors and Masters of Music degrees by the age of 20. He continued his studies in Madrid with Dmitri Bashkirov and in Budapest with Ferenc Rados. An American citizen since 2003, Mr. Gerstein now divides his time between the United States and Germany, where he has been a professor of piano at the Musikhochschule in Stuttgart since 2006.


LISZT Piano Concerto No. 1  
LISZT Les Préludes