<September 2017>

Symphonic Jazz

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Friday, April 21, 2017 – 10:45 AM
Saturday, April 22, 2017 – 8:00 PM
This program will be live webcast Saturday, April 22
at 8:00 pm EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Concert Description

Leonard Slatkin leads magnificent orchestral transcriptions by J.S. Bach, followed by two jazz-inspired DSO firsts! Hear the orchestra's premiere performance of Shostakovich's Jazz Suite No. 1, and the debut of an all-new jazz trio concerto by Grammy Award winning composer and pianist Michel Camilo.

ConcerTalk 4/22 at 7 PM: Get the most out of each Classical concert with informal presentations in Orchestra Hall one hour before the performance begins. Enjoy special guests, lectures, or performances that illuminate the program and provide a behind-the-scenes look at the art of making music! Associate Conductor Michelle Merrill will speak on this occasion.


Leonard Slatkin, conductor  Bio

Internationally renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin began his tenure as Music Director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2008. In addition, Maestro Slatkin is the Music Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon, a position he has held since 2011. He is highly regarded for his historic leadership of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra from 1979 to 1996 and his tenure as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1996 to 2008. He has also served as Chief Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and held Principal Guest Conductor positions with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Learn more at leonardslatkin.com

Michel Camilo, piano   Bio
Michel Camilo is a composer and pianist extraordinaire. He is a bandleader, lecturer, and visiting professor. He is a chart-topping producer; a Grammy, Latin Grammy and Emmy award winner. He is the recipient of his native country's highest civilian honors. He served as the Detroit Symphony Orchestsra's Fred A. and Barbara M. Erb Jazz Creative Director for both the 2009/10 and 2010/11 seasons.

Learn more at www.michaelcamilo.com.
Cliff Almond, drums   
Ricky Rodriguez, double bass   


BACH Orchestral Transcriptions  
SHOSTAKOVICH Jazz Suite No. 1 (DSO premiere)  
MICHEL CAMILO Concerto for Jazz Trio & Orchestra (world premiere)