<August 2017>

Tchaikovsky's First Concerto

Classical Print Add to Calendar
Orchestra Hall
Thursday, November 17, 2016 – 7:30 PM
Friday, November 18, 2016 – 10:45 AM
Saturday, November 19, 2016 – 8:00 PM
This program will be live webcast Saturday, November 19
at 8:00 pm EDT (GMT-4) on dso.org/live.
+ add to my calendar

Concert Description

Winner of the prestigious Rubinstein and Gilmore Artist awards, internationally acclaimed pianist Kirill Gerstein performs a rarely heard early edition of Tchaikovsky's beloved first Piano Concerto, joined by renowned conductor Jun Märkl.

ConcerTalk 11/17 at 6:30 PM & 11/19 at 7 PM: Get the most out of each Classical concert with informal presentations in Orchestra Hall one hour before the performance begins. Enjoy special guests, lectures, or performances that illuminate the program and provide a behind-the-scenes look at the art of making music! This iteration will feature an interview with pianist Kirill Gerstein.


Jun Märkl, conductor  Bio

Jun Märkl conducts the world’s leading orchestras, such as the Cleveland Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic, Munich Philharmonic, Oslo Philharmonic and Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. He has long been a highly respected interpreter of the core Germanic repertoire from both the symphonic and operatic traditions, and more recently for his refined and idiomatic Debussy, Ravel and Messiaen.

He was Music Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon from 2005-11 and of the MDR Symphony Orchestra Leipzig until 2012.

Learn more at junmarkl.com.

Kirill Gerstein, piano   Bio

The multifaceted pianist Kirill Gerstein has rapidly ascended into classical music’s highest ranks.  With a masterful technique, discerning intelligence, and a musical curiosity that has led him to explore repertoire spanning centuries and styles, he has proven to be one of today’s most intriguing and versatile musicians. His early training and experience in jazz has contributed an important element to his interpretive style, inspiring an energetic and expressive musical personality that distinguishes his playing.

After completing his studies in three years and following his second summer at the Boston University program at Tanglewood, Mr. Gerstein turned his focus back to classical music and moved to New York City to attend the Manhattan School of Music, where he studied with Solomon Mikowsky and earned both Bachelors and Masters of Music degrees by the age of 20. He continued his studies in Madrid with Dmitri Bashkirov and in Budapest with Ferenc Rados. An American citizen since 2003, Mr. Gerstein now divides his time between the United States and Germany, where he has been a professor of piano at the Musikhochschule in Stuttgart since 2006.


TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 (1879 Version)  
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra