Rite of Spring Centennial


Print icon Print Add to My Calendar

Orchestra Hall
Thursday, March 14   7:30 PM  
Saturday, March 16   8:00 PM  

This performance will also be webcast on dso.org/live

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos

Born in Burgos, Spain in 1933, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos studied violin, piano, music theory, and composition at the conservatories in Bilbao and Madrid. Burgos also studied conducting at Munich’s Hochschule für Musik, where he graduated summa cum laude and was awarded the Richard Strauss Prize. Named Conductor of the Year by Musical America in 2011, Maestro Frühbeck has made extensive tours with such ensembles as the Philharmonia of London, the London Symphony Orchestra, the National Orchestra of Madrid, and the Swedish Radio Orchestra. He has also toured North America with the Vienna Symphony, the Spanish National Orchestra and the Dresden Philharmonic. From 2004-2011, he was Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Dresden Philharmonic, and will become the Chief Conductor of the Danish National Orchestra  during the 2012-13 season.

Concert Description

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos leads Dvořák's Symphony No. 8 and Stravinsky's incomparable The Rite of Spring.


DVORÁK Symphony No. 8  
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring  


Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor  Bio