<December 2016>


Our Mission

We strive to fulfill our mission as an active partner of the DSO in fundraising, as well as audience/membership expansion, youth music education and volunteer service. Because of the repeated financial success of our events such as the Nutcracker Luncheon & Boutique and Musical Feasts, we are proudly able to make significant donations to the DSO each year.


Wondering how you can support the Detroit Symphony Orchestra? Be a part of some of Detroit’s premier events while supporting one of its premier institutions. Have fun while contributing your time and talents in supporting live music in metro Detroit. Join the DSO Volunteer Council!

As a member of the Volunteer Council you have the opportunity to be a part of any (or all!) of the following:
- Musical Feasts
- Musicians’ Rehearsal Luncheon
- Nutcracker Luncheon & Boutique
- Education and Outreach
- Shop @ The Max
- Special Projects and Events
- Volunteer Council Office Staffing
- DSO and DSOVC Office Support

Your Membership includes:
- Subscription to VC newsletter Council Notes
- Invitations to special events
- Volunteer opportunities
- The satisfaction of knowing that you impact every aspect of the DSO’s musical presentations!

JOIN this passionate and energetic group of volunteers! Download our application form, complete, and send with your check or payment information for your Individual $40, Family $50, or Patron $100 (or more!) membership to DSO Volunteer Council, 3711 Woodward Avenue, Detroit, MI 48201.

Review our 2015-16 Annual Report.


Stay up to date and download the current issue of Council Notes, our quarterly Volunteer Council newsletter: Council Notes, Fall 2016


Each year the Volunteer Council presents the Volunteer of the Year award, based on outstanding service. At the Annual Meeting in June, 2016, Coco Siewert received this award.

The Alice Berberian Haidostian award recognizes dedicated and consistent volunteer service over a long period of time. At the Annual meeting in June, 2016, Gwen and Dick Bowlby received this award.

Upcoming Events


Nutcracker Luncheon & Boutique
November 15, 2016

A signature fundraising event presented by the Volunteer Council, the 2016 version again offers an elegant holiday boutique consisting of an unparalleled collection of shopping opportunities from a list of vendors comprised of past favorites along with fresh new entries. Coupled with an elegant luncheon at the renowned Detroit Athletic Club and amazing raffle prizes, all emceed by Fox TV’s Taryn Asher, this is an afternoon you won’t want to miss! Ticket levels are $90, $175 and $500. For Information or reservations, contact the VC office (313) 576-5154 or volunteercouncil@dso.org.

Musical Feasts

Musical Feasts XXIX
April through December, 2016

Select from 18 unparalleled events featuring instrumental selections by our gifted DSO musicians and inspired menus created by talented chefs, offered by our generous hosts in unique homes and locations throughout metro Detroit. Each event is a true feast for the senses!

Hour logo

Plan early—these small, intimate occasions can sell out quickly! Contact the Volunteer Council office at 313.576.5154 or volunteercouncil@dso.org for up-to-date availability and reservations.

2015-2017 Volunteer Council

Executive Committee

Ginny Lundquist, President
Jill Jordan, Chief Financial Officer
Diane Ekizian, Recording Secretary
Esther Lyons, V.P. for Administrative/Office Services
Eloise (Ellie) Tholen, V. P. for Communications/Public Relations
Beverly Williams, V. P. for Membership
E. Jane Talia, V. P. for Neighborhood/Residency Ambassador
Carol Marti, V. P. for Special Events
Marlene Bihlmeyer, V. P. for Youth Music Education

Mark Abbott & Caroline Coade, Orchestra Liaisons

Board of Directors

Mary Beattie
Gwen Bowlby
Drew Esslinger
Kim Minasian Hawes
Sandie Knollenberg
Magda Moss
Jackie Piceu
Dolores Reese
Ann Marie Rowley
Susan Svoboda
Charlotte Worthen

Eleanor (Coco) Siewert, Parliamentarian