<August 2016>


Make an exceptional impact. Earn extraordinary benefits.

The DSO Governing Members comprise a philanthropic leadership group designed to provide unique, substantive, hands-on opportunities for leadership, influence and access to a diverse group of valued stakeholders. Governing Members are ambassadors for the DSO and advocates for Arts and Culture in Detroit and throughout Southeast Michigan. This dynamic group offers support and counsel to the DSO Board of Directors.

Did you know? Governing Members get all ticketing fees waived for all online purchases! Log in now to begin. 

Governing Members enjoy unparalleled access to DSO artists and senior leadership; a variety of custom, experience-based events; exclusive travel opportunities; invitations to serve on institutional task forces and committees; and much more.  A minimum commitment of $2,500 annually must be contributed to the DSO Annual Fund; subscription to one or more concert series is expected.

Governing Members also receive patron recognition equal to their level of giving. Click here to view the patron recognition levels.

For more information regarding the DSO Governing Members please contact Juanda Pack at 313-576-5450 or jpack@dso.org.

Governing Members Leadership

James C. Farber, Chairman | Read the Chairperson's letter
Arthur T. O’Reilly, Chairman Emeritus
Janet and Norm Ankers, Co-chairs, Gabrilowitsch Society
Jiehan Alonzo, Vice Chair, Signature Events Committee
Maureen D’Avanzo, Vice Chair, Membership Committee
Suzanne Dalton, Vice Chair, Annual Giving Committee
David Karp, Vice Chair, Communications Committee
David Assemany, Vice Chair, Programs Committee
Jan Bernick, Member-at-Large
Bonnie Larson, Member-at-Large
Frederick J. Morsches, Member-at-Large
David Everson, Musician Liaison
Johanna Yarbrough, Musician Liaison

"One of my goals in deepening my engagement as part of the Governing Member leadership is to see the DSO become an integral and permanent part of the fabric of Detroit and a downtown experience."

–James C. Farber, Chairperson, Governing Members